Sunday Rendezvous (the dinner)

We arrived back to Shelly’s house just before dark. At this point she still hadn’t revealed what we were cooking. But I’m sure I’m sure I’ll come to know soon.  

Before leaving my car, I leaned in and stole a quick kiss. She returned the gesture and kissed me back. 

As we entered her house, we were surprised by a friend of her oldest. She was a cute kid. We exchanged our “nice to meet you” pleasantries and after slipping out of my shoes, I followed Shelly into the kitchen. 

It turns out we were making a coconut crusted Asian shrimp salad with rice.  

In fact most Asians I know don’t have salad dishes. Now just as a reminder, I’m Filipino and my culture also don’t have salads so not sure what our dish tonight would look or even taste like.

Since I wasn’t familiar, I told Shelly, “I will be your assistant cook and will dice or do whatever she needed.” She said with a smirk, “This should be fun!”  

 But before we could start, we rinsed and loaded the dishwasher with the dirtied dishes piled in the sink and removed some of the clutter on the countertop to make room for cooking. 

Now when I was growing up, my mom told me, “You need to learn how to cook!” When I asked why, she told me with all seriousness, “Just in case you find yourself alone, you’ll need to take care of yourself.”  

Mind you she never taught my other siblings how to cook. Mother’s intuition was spot on as I’ve been cooking for myself for at least half of the 32 years since I moved out of my mom’s house. 

My culinary skills had paid off again as Shelly was impressed as I chopped onions, diced shallots, chopped cilantro, and shelled and deveined shrimp.  

She touched my shoulders, elbows, and waists countless of times. She told me, “Other guys in my past claimed to know how to cook and maneuver in the kitchen, but in reality they didn’t. So when you said you knew how to cook I was skeptical.”

“And now?” I asked inquisitively. 

“Oh! No skepticism here! There’s nothing sexier than a man who knows his way in the kitchen! And honey you’re sexy!”  

Then she kissed me and of course I kissed her back. 

So here’s the odd thing. Her oldest child was in his room just around the kitchen and I’m sure he’s hearing all this talk. Now although he’s 17, I’m sure this conversation was having some affect on him. Then again, Shelly mentioned that she had two serious relationships in the last 10 years. So maybe the kids are okay with their mother dating another guy. 

We finally finished preparing enough of the salad dinner for her kids to begin eating.  

At this time it was passed 8pm and they were beyond hungry. Shelly plated her kids dishes while I continued cooking the last of the coconut crusted shrimp. 

Her daughter Joy finished first and went back upstairs. Her oldest son was still eating when Shelly and I sat down at the table and joined him. I asked Austin, “How was it?” To which he gave a typical teenage response, “It’s okay.” I tasted it and thought it was fine. Shelly thought it was lacking something. I had never had this dish beforehand so I had no prior reference as to how it should have tasted.  

The wine purchased earlier went well with our dinner. 

Shelly and I finished our meal and began cleaning up our cooking mess. So one thing she did differently was that she didn’t clean up anything until after the meal is eaten. Perhaps that would explain why there were dirtied dishes in the sink before we began our cooking earlier. 

Now I would clean as I’m cooking so I don’t have an enormous pile of dishes to wash later.  

By doing so, the only items to be cleaned afterwards would be the pots and pans used during my cooking process and the handful of dishes and utensils needed to consume the meal. 

By the time the dishes were rinsed and loaded in the dishwasher, it was nearly 11:30 PM. It was yet another long date, but similar to our previous dates it didn’t seem long. We kissed passionately and held each other for a bit in her kitchen. 

Glancing at my iWatch, the time read almost midnight and I still had an hours drive home.  

We walked to her front door, exchanged good night kisses, and I headed home…

#singleasianmale #onlinedating #textdating #loveletters #speeddating #buddingromance #relationship

Leave a Reply

