#146 (S meeting mother)

On Saturday, the day before my mom and sister were to fly back to Houston, S and I had planned for her to meet them. Since my immediate family members still resides in Houston, S hadn’t had the opportunity of meeting my mom or my siblings. This would be the first time they would meet. 

I’ve always found it best to meet someone new over a good dinner especially if the food looks, smells, and tastes delicious. At least that’s how I had planned it. 

I was making a semi traditional Filipino menu which consisted of Lumpia, pancit bihon (noodles), pork adobo, and chicken with coconut milk. I also added a couple of new recipes of my version of salt and pepper short pork ribs, and salt and pepper shrimp. Both of the salt and pepper dishes were spicier than the typical Filipino dish as it contained fresh garlic, fresh ginger, onions, and sliced jalapeños. 

Dinner time was set for 6pm on Saturday. I did get help from my kids (my son and his girlfriend) in rolling the Lumpia and my sister in frying up the Lumpia. The rest of the food I prepared and cooked myself. 

All worked out as it should. S arrived around 5:30. While my sister and I finished the final cooking of our meal, she visited with my son, his girlfriend, and my mother. My sister and I finished and we were seated at the table eating at 6pm as planned. 

After dinner and desert, S and I cleared the table, and filled and started my dishwasher while my family went for their after dinner walk – of course my mom would be pushed in her wheelchair. As S and I were doing the dishes, she confessed, “Your mom and sister are great! I’m not sure why I was nervous meeting them.”  I hugged her and responded sarcastically, “Of course they’re great! They’re actors who I paid to be my family!”

I’m glad S likes my mom and my sister…

#singleasianmale #buddingromance #relationship #life #familytime #familydinner

Leave a Reply

