#174 (the storage project – part 1)

It’s been almost a year since I bought my house. Well it’s 11 months but who’s counting. I promised myself to be out of my storage unit within one year from the date I bought my house. After all it’s just me and I now have a garage and a 3 bedroom house. “It’s time!” I told myself to get out of the storage unit. 

However, before I could completely be out of my storage unit, I’ll need to install storage shelving or some other holding area at my house. “But where?” I asked myself. Entered the unused space in the ceiling of the garage. It’s a big enough area to hold bins and other lesser used and seasonal items. 

A few months back, I purchased ‘ready to hang’ metal shelving. What I didn’t realize, or better to say, I didn’t plan it out too carefully was how I needed to install these hanging storage units. 

As you’ve probably guessed, (if you’ve been following me) I buy things then I have to contemplate how it’s going to be used, or in this case, how I’m going to install them. 

I decided to start putting up these shelving units this past Saturday and after reading the instructions, well who am I kidding? I mean after I’ve looked at the pictures of how to install, I began the process. In my head I calculated it would take a couple of hours. 

But…did I mention that the shelving unit had to be fastened to the rafters in my garage. Here’s some basic thing to know about rafters. The are typically set 16″ or 24″ apart from each other. My square shelving unit measures 45 inches on each side. There is no way I can install this unit without engineering some cross beam as the spread between any two rafters would not provide the support to hold my shelving unit. In other words, if I screwed two of the posts into a rafter, the other two posts would hit open air. 

Ah…yes you’re correct again! A trip to the local hardware store is required to complete the hanging of this obviously incongruent ‘ready to hang’ garage ceiling shelving unit that by itself cannot be installed. I wonder if the company gets a kickback with the lumber industry. 

I drew out my design on paper. Well you got me again. I drew out my design on a couple of pink post it notes. That took about an hour as I measured several times. The adage measure twice cut once is a life saver. 

My design called, four 2×4 pieces of lumber in 8 foot sections, some lag screws, and some washers. I found good straight 2×4 pine boards relatively fast. After some additional designing (in the screws and fasteners aisle), I ended on purchasing a box of 5/8 lag screws that were 3-1/2″ long and washers for the lag screws. I also bought a new stud finder because I leant out my old one and never got it back from the person I leant it to. 

My design called for the 2×4 wood plank to fit up where the wall of my garage meets up with the ceiling.  However the full 8 foot 2×4 lumber won’t fit in that space because of the metal support beams for the garage door railing. Per my design, I cut the 2x4x8 in half. 

Well…it’s funny what confidence does. It kicks you in the pants. My design assumed the rafters were perpendicular to the wall where the plank was to be screwed. It wasn’t! The rafters ran parallel. Maybe I should have purchased (and used) the stud finder before designing the solution…

#singleasianmale #menslife #garageshelving #homestorage #diy

Leave a Reply

