#178 (end of summer dinner party)

My end of summer party was scheduled for this past Saturday. It was themed as Mexican food fare with a twist. If you recall from a previous post, I made my fajitas for S and her sister, when her sister was in town visiting. Based on that trial run, I modified the marinating process for the shrimp, which I was told came out perfectly. 

As with my previous parties, I had a house full of guests. But unlike my previous parties, I gave up control of the food and only supplied the three varieties of fajitas: beef, chicken, and shrimp. I also provided the tortillas and the quesso chip dip. The other sides: beans, rice, pico de gallo, guacamole, deserts, margarita, and whatever else went with a Mexican themed dinner were made, brought, or bought by my friends. 

I’ve got a natural host mentality, so this party would be a challenge to give up that control. I think I did okay. I did learn I need dessert plates, which I had plenty of before my divorce. No worries. Just found an excuse to shop for more dinnerware. 

By the end of the party, we consumed the large container of margarita Jean brought, several bottles of wine, several bags of tortilla chips, all the guacamole, all the shrimp fajitas, all the mango dessert Lois made, most of the beef and chicken fajitas, most of the beans, and the majority of the goat biryani that Chad’s wife cooked. The goat biryani is Lois an my favorite dish Chad’s wife makes, which we (Lois and I) halved the remaining for our left over dinners for the next week. 

I have to say I have a great group of friends who love to gather around a home cooked meal and just relax and enjoy each other’s company. A passerby would think we have known each other for a long time by the way we carry on with each other, but in reality we’ve only known each other a few short years. 

S also brought her twin teenagers, which I’m glad as they can experience other folks outside their small country community. As I’m still in the early dating relationship with their mother, hopefully  it’ll continue to emphasize life happens outside their very small corner of the world. Who am I kidding, they’re teenagers…

Until the next home party…

#singleasianmale #menslife #friends #dinnerparty #endofsummer #fajitas #margaritas

Leave a Reply

