#189 (the technically frustrated)

Why are people my age not that technically savvy? I guess I can’t relate well to those unfamiliar to the techie stuff as I’ve been in the Information Technology field most of my adult life. Even if I weren’t in the IT field, there are many technological toys from TVs, cell phones, and computers. And tons of apps from YouTube, Hulu, Netflix, and more. And forget about the shopping online. I guess since I am in that industry, it’s second nature for me and any new device or app comes easy to understand and use. 

This past weekend, S and I spent it together. Saturday was a full day of errands and then a birthday party that night. But Sunday was one of those days to just veg, stay in, and binge watch your favorite TV series, or just lounge and nap all day. So that’s what we did as her children weren’t due home until the late afternoon or pre evening. 

Unfortunately she received a call around 2:30 that her kids would be dropped home earlier than usual. Also her oldest son slid his truck into a ditch. He wasn’t hurt (thank goodness) but we definitely had to cut our lazy Sunday short. We quickly got dressed and headed to her house. 

We got to her house, checked on her twins, ran some errands, and settled in. Her oldest son who slid his truck in the ditch was spending the night with her dad. It’s weird that she didn’t actually see him or even talk to him on the phone. I would have expected her to say, “I’d like to see my son just to see if he’s okay.” 

Instead we got take out for dinner from a local sandwich shop based on her daughter’s craving. After dinner, S settled into her association work. I just hung out nursing a dry Riesling and working on a sudoko puzzle. I was still on lazy Sunday mood. 

S had to work on her teacher association club and she was using a technology that she had been using for several months – google docs. It was like watching young infant learning to turn over. You want to help them, but then they would miss out on the experience of figuring out how to do things. I had to focus on my puzzle (which required more concentration as I wanted to just do it for her). But I didn’t and let her to figure out the process. 

At one point I saw she was frustrated and asked for help but she really wasn’t asking as she wasn’t listening and was clearly frustrated. I left her alone again until she calmed. She asked again and became frustrated again. I said, “take a breath” in a tone to let her know her attitude wasn’t helping. I saw her tear up. So I again left her to herself until she was actually ready for my help. 

After about 15 minutes of trying herself she turned and politely asked, “can you help me?” I said sure and instructed her how to get what she wanted. She smiled and said, “wow that was easy!” I showed her basic excel functions, which boggles my mind that S (who’s been doing this work for a year now) hasn’t found a better way to do the things especially that she knew I work with excel daily. 

After I finished my Riesling, it was about 9:30pm. I had to leave soon as the next day was a work day and a full one at that. I left for home. S was now working on reconciling two lists of association members. I figured it would take her an hour to be done. 

I reached my house and texted her to check if she was still awake and working. She texted back that she was. A few minutes later I texted my last text wishing her a good night. 

I woke up the next morning and checked my phone. There was a text from S around 1:30AM that she was beat and was going to bed. Now when I left her house the night before, she mentioned she had to identify which teachers were missing from each list. So from 9:30 to 1:30 (that’s four hours) she was reconciling a list of maybe 400 people – manually. I would have been done in less than 30 minutes as I would have used formulas to identify which ones were not on my list and vice versa. I’m glad I left as it would have crippled me to watch her painfully go through the process manually. The worse part is if I were there she would continue to do things herself and not ask for help. 

Stubbornness is another trait S wears proudly. As for me, I gave her a life line which her stubborn nature ignored…

#singleasianmale #menslife #relationship #ilovespreadsheets #ecxel #techsavvy

Leave a Reply

