#206 (turmeric tea)

Last year when I was sick, one of my work colleagues (Chad) hinted that I should try turmeric next time I’m sick. Last week my typical upper respiratory infection returned which is usually when the weather changes from fall to winter and again during the change from spring to summer. 

Allergies is a strong probability…

Since I’m not familiar with this spice, I did some research. I knew it’s a spice in most Indian dishes but didn’t know of its healing properties. It’s interesting to know the different uses. 

In my research, I did find a recipe for turmeric tea made with ginger, clove, cinnamon, nutmeg, milk, and honey. 

Simmer the spices…

I used the long method of the directions which called for simmering the spices in 2 cups of water for 15 minutes. The aroma smelled good and wasn’t that foreign to me. 

I was expecting it to have a stronger fragrance than what it did. 

After 15 minutes of simmering, the directions called for straining the blended concoction. It took longer than expected to strain the liquid through a strainer, but after about 5 minutes of draining I got my tea. 

The directions calls to add honey and milk to taste. Like most Asians, I’m lactose intolerant so my choice of milk is soy. I am also a big proponent of consuming local honey and not the honey you find in your grocery store that was processed thousands of miles away. I mean raw honey from a local honey producer. 

The instructions didn’t specify the amount of honey so I used my normal amount I put in my tea. I typically don’t add milk unless it’s in a latte so played that by ear as well. 

Not too bad…

I thought the turmeric would be stronger but it was quite pleasant. The next time I think I’ll warm the milk. 

#singleasianmale #turmeric #healthybody #healthyfoods #menshealth #life

Leave a Reply

