#220 (Christmas decorations)

Last year was my first Christmas in my new to me house. And since I moved in during October, and most of my stuff were in storage, I didn’t bother getting the Christmas decorations out. Consequently, I only decorated one tree. Also during my separation period and finally the divorce from my recent ex, I didn’t feel like decorating much. That’s been about four years now since I’ve really gone all out and decorated my home. 

This year, there’s a different feeling in the air. I feel more alive. So now that I have just moved all my items into my garage and no longer in a storage unit, and I have all my Christmas decorations here, and the crazy emotional years of my separation and divorce are behind me, I think I’m ready to get back to doing Christmas my way. 

How much decorations do I need…

I took inventory and I have a total of seven trees. They vary in sizes from 3′ to 7′. Now I’m not sure I have enough ornaments since I lost some of that to my ex. But that’s just another excuse to buy more. 

You may be asking, “Why do you have so many trees?”  Well Christmas is my favorite holiday and winter is my favorite season. I love the cold and the snow. I can do without the Pacific Northwest drizzly rain though. 

This year, one of my seven trees were already up the day after thanksgiving. I set up that one in my upstairs loft area where I usually relax after a long day at work. The other 7′ tree will go into the upstairs guest bedroom. That one has the fiber optic filament. Such a cool looking tree. 

Two of the 3′ trees would be setup in each of the two full bathrooms. One of the 4′ trees would be near the dining table and the other would be in my master bedroom. Maybe the last of the 3′ trees would go in the office. 

One more tree…

Of course, I’ll buy a live tree and fresh garland for my fireplace mantle in the main living room. You have to have the fresh scent of a noble fir and the cedar garland or it’s just not Christmas. And besides, the cost of a local, fresh tree in Oregon is less expensive than one in Houston, TX where I grew up. So I will buy a fresh, living tree. 

My plan is to have my house fully decorated by the middle of December. This will give me time to enjoy them before they go in hiding for another 11 months. 

Have fun decorating your home this holiday season. Feel free to post and share pictures of your decorated trees. 

#singleasianmale #christmastrees #christmasdecorations 

Leave a Reply

