#232 (prep for winter vacation)

S and I had planned for a skiing trip with her kids during their winter break from school. Unfortunately my oldest son who lives in Bellevue, WA won’t be joining us. Instead I’ll travel to see him during Christmas Eve eve and stay with him through Christmas Day. 

Switching sleighs…

During the non-rainy days and months, I drive my convertible sports car (named Stephanie) and take advantage of the brisk late spring days, the mild to warm summers months, and the coolness of the fall weather when the fall colors drape themselves on the leaves that remain on the trees. 

However as the weather becomes nasty, I switch vehicles and mainly drive my truck (named Betsy) as she comes equipped with four wheel drive on the fly. I’ll also take Betsy if I’m planning for a trip requiring off road excursions.

Preparing Betsy for skiing…

Since we were informed that bad weather were approaching our area, I took advantage of the early exodus from work to take Betsy for a partial checkup. She passed the DEQ test with flying colors, which isn’t too shabby for a 16 year old truck on her second engine. 

Next was a tuneup and checking of the brakes which is needed as our route takes us up the mountain. Unfortunately the weather became worse so postponed that for a better day. I’ve budgeted $3K for her doctor (mechanic) visit.

Sick insurance for cars…

It’s too bad nobody has come up with the idea of having auto insurance that has a copay and deductible plan like humans have for medical or dental. Think about it. All you have to pay at the time of visit is the copay and the rest is billed to your insurance company. If they have that for cars, I’d sign up in a heartbeat!

Wait…did you pick up what I just threw down? Remember that idea was just brought up here. I digress, but wouldn’t that be a great idea?

Anyway, now I just have to find the time to get Betsy to see her “doctor” before I take her up to the mountain on our skiing vacation. 

Oh our toys…

#trucks #fordtrucks #offroading #life #singleasianmale

Leave a Reply

